NOW HERE WE REALLY GO!

Poetry Reading 2

Now let’s say you’ve got 2 or maybe even 3 days before you’ve got any competition from Harriet, unless of course Terreson doesn’t Pass Go, doesn’t Go to Jail,  and wins the Beauty Contest anyway. What would be your caption (20 words or less, and don’t bother if this is your 2nd post today — because that would put you way over the limit!)?

Oh go on, have a try. It’s only a little blog, and you know you’re a poet!

And to show you we really care, we’ll post a reply to anything you offer, however au courant or mumbled.

Like this, for example: Click here to read Thomas Brady’s response to Stephen Cope’s comment  on Tonya Foster’s ‘Ramadan’ thread. I mean, the appetite for what you all are doing on Harriet is insatiable!

5 Comments

  1. poetryandporse said,

    September 23, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    This demonstrates the idea of Nothingness as an arbitary hexagamon: the way the readers face one another, and the framing of the space, suggest early Rothenburg and Oulipo, but with a Concrete influence because of the visual ethnopoetical ramifications on the 200 mill the old dear left to be spent by really top rate intellects like Trav and those Trav – were he Batman – would like to take to the five star parties and orgies where all our dreams come true.

    The intimate plethora of sights and associations in the movie, really are very very important and culturally, their worth can not be overtstated or underestimated: to do so would be a secular sinning against all that is po-mo.

    ~

    He must have read what’s getting said about him on this weeks poem of the week in the Guardian – not thinking for a minute when he was enacting his unfairness on three people because he is jealous; that one of them would make him a laughing stock in the premier online portal the sad git has as the dream template he – as the one hand mousing Harriet – has as his beau ideal projection of what the ultimate work-related fantasy would look like; were he not such an idiot without any poetic talent.

    ~

    It is interesting to read the responses of what people think about the red green issue. Carol Rumens thought Trav was a dickhead, and a poster called Dicken’s Desk sums it up:

    “I found those red thumbs-up/down absolutely hilarious.

    Checked out Harriet a while back because sWords said it was good. I found it a right royal pain in the backside… all these po-faced young Americans trying desperately hard to impress each other with their serious poetiness and absolutely rubbish metaphors… lots of prissy, passive aggression flying about too… As a slightly trollish laugh, I pasted a very traditional, rhyming poem in praise of the craft of Jane Austen and watched as the “dislikes” piled up and up and up. How I chortled imaginning these would-be next Billy Collins (or whoever) types foaming with displeasure at the shameless application of Cathymacleod’s three “R’s”, their bony little fingers stabbing away… dislike, dislike! Not for me I thought.

    But imagine how crushing those “thumbs down” would be to folks starting out on something like Billy’s poster poems. Imagine the number of thumbs down poor VFT would have got in the first couple of days of this thread?

    Reading this thread I’m now starting to warm to this weeks poem of the week a little more. If the like/dislike buttons were allowed their head she would have disappeared before being given that chance.

    Very disenchanting.”

    ~

    CHeers Trav.

  2. thomasbrady said,

    September 23, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    The House by the Side of the Road

    THERE are hermit souls that live withdrawn
    In the place of their self-content;
    There are souls like stars, that dwell apart,
    In a fellowless firmament;
    There are pioneer souls that blaze the paths
    Where highways never ran-
    But let me live by the side of the road
    And be a friend to man.

    Let me live in a house by the side of the road
    Where the race of men go by-
    The men who are good and the men who are bad,
    As good and as bad as I.
    I would not sit in the scorner’s seat
    Nor hurl the cynic’s ban-
    Let me live in a house by the side of the road
    And be a friend to man.

    I see from my house by the side of the road
    By the side of the highway of life,
    The men who press with the ardor of hope,
    The men who are faint with the strife,
    But I turn not away from their smiles and tears,
    Both parts of an infinite plan-
    Let me live in a house by the side of the road
    And be a friend to man.

    I know there are brook-gladdened meadows ahead,
    And mountains of wearisome height;
    That the road passes on through the long afternoon
    And stretches away to the night.
    And still I rejoice when the travelers rejoice
    And weep with the strangers that moan,
    Nor live in my house by the side of the road
    Like a man who dwells alone.

    Let me live in my house by the side of the road,
    Where the race of men go by-
    They are good, they are bad, they are weak, they are strong,
    Wise, foolish – so am I.
    Then why should I sit in the scorner’s seat,
    Or hurl the cynic’s ban?
    Let me live in my house by the side of the road
    And be a friend to man.

  3. cowpattyhammer said,

    September 24, 2009 at 3:02 am

    What an irony –it’s so beautiful in the context, Tom, and so refreshing!

    And the irony, of course, is that I mean that, that for the first time in ages I have just read a comment on Harriet (oops, sorry, you’re banned, but we can always pretend!) that made me want to go out and read some more poetry. I mean, with more poetry around like “The House by the Side of the Road” I might even go out and buy a book of poetry, and that could really lead on to something. I mean, I might even begin to like writing more than I liked to have something written, for example, you know, to show around and be on the scene like those two at the table. I might even begin to write because the poetry gave me pleasure, not just because poetry was my summer job, my syllabus, and my credits.

    Then the next thing you know I might stop talking about poetry people, who knows whom, who says what, whether they live there or not, how much they care, what she would have done if he hadn’t gotten involved in that or participated in that reading, you know, all those sort of wonderful things that make poetry so interesting today. Like this film. I mean, how many times did Andy Warhol make this film, and we still feel clever watching nothing. We still feel there’s a cutting edge and we’re on it, even if it’s just bait at the end of our knife.

    The emperor’s new clothes have a huge advantage over the old, worn out ones, of course, because you’ve got complete control over the wardrobe. No need to look in the mirror or visit the shops or even buy anything. You just talk about poetry and the clothes are all there and just what you’ve always dreamed about taking off or wearing!

    Just like Stephen Burt, for example. You’re as well dressed as he isn’t!

    Christopher

  4. cowpattyhammer said,

    September 24, 2009 at 3:59 am

    For those of you impatiently waiting for the promised reply to any comments on “Poetry Reading” on Harriet, I wrote them, then combined them, then decided to post them as a new article.

    Do feel free to reply in either place.

    Christopher

  5. cowpattyhammer said,

    September 25, 2009 at 2:09 am

    BREAKING NEWS: “Poetry Reading” Thread has Comment!”

    Possibly I am experiencing an audio problem. All I hear is a background noise like a subway train or something.

    Terreson
    POSTED BY: TERRESON ON SEPTEMBER 24, 2009 AT 8:11 PM

    Did you bother to read the other comments, Tere, like the one by Joel Brouwer just before you?

    Ever heard of irony?

    Anyway, you’re lucky to be in a less hostile environment now. Joel Brouwer has already shed his -2 Red votes (cf. “Speedwriting Comments” just above), so people are forgiving. That’s good.

    ~

    I know we promised to respond to all the comments, and I haven’t really honored the THRUST of what you posted, Tere, the CONTENT. That little article, for example, “a background noise” is what you also heard. That would indicate that the rest of what you heard you got a feeling for, that is got something really subliminal you could bring to consciousness and mull. Yes, you were distracted by just that one awkward sound the audio engineers hadn’t dealt with, like a subway passing maybe, and for aesthetically sensitive ears like yours that’s a problem.

    I hadn’t thought of that reading, and I do apologize if what I said about irony was off the mark.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

