I AM TRUE TO ONE WHO CANNOT BE TRUE

True to me?  You are true to the grass
And the thousand roots that grow beneath your stone.
You belong to the disappearing past
And I, to your memory—I walk through it, alone.
You cannot remember anything, so I remember you.
I am true to one who cannot be true.

You married someone else, so when you say
You love me, I think, when you leave him, that will be the day.
I married someone else, so when we are through,
We know we are false, though we are being true.

True to you?  I am true to the sky
And thoughts that cannot breathe up there.
I am true to every image in my eye
And all the things for you I’d dare.
I remember everything, including you.
You are true to one who cannot be true.

Leave a Reply

