SHARE AND LIKE

 

In a happy marriage, the sex can just happen,

But with lovers it has to be endlessly negotiated and arranged;

I’m over that. If you want to know the truth,

I slept with you because I wanted to find out if a poet was more than just a penis,

And I found out that a poet is just a penis; so, goodbye.

I don’t care now much poetry you write, you’re just a penis.

Go write your heart-broken poems so you can be a famous penis; I really don’t care.

Sometimes it’s annoying how simple the answers are.

A discord needs resolving, a cat needs to drink,

The weather is kind in a sunny, naive way,

And, wondering how much human speech my cat understands,

I think: how happy to live on that sub-linguistic level

Where all that matters is you are satiate after you drink.

I’m sick of all these thirsty woody allens.

And don’t get me started on cunts!

Go work on a construction site if you fancy that, or sprinkle rose water

On your cunt or something. But just leave me alone!

I’m going to try monogamy; monogamy, monogamy, so uncool,

But isn’t that what everybody secretly wants (and hardly ever gets)?

First, God, the law-giver, second, the husband (who you sleep with) and third, your friends.

What’s wrong with that?  Do you think I want to make laws?

Everything got turned upside down.  I thought I was God

Because I slept with my friends.

And that confused me a bit, you know, when I believed I was God.

I felt like God. You should have seen how they behaved when I walked by.

Take my hand, jealous, tortured, shit-faced, husband.

Tomorrow, maybe, it will just happen in the dark

And then I will get up and feed the cat, as usual.

Oh, won’t I be happy?

I won’t worship anybody but God,

Who makes the sunny, simple afternoons,

Who makes the darkness (good on God for that!)

And lets me satiate myself, naively.

What else?

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments

  1. noochinator said,

    May 27, 2015 at 7:46 pm

    This poem could have been written by Ashley Kane, played by Elisabeth Moss in the 2014 film Listen Up Philip :

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3093546/?ref_=nv_sr_1

    The film is available for streaming free for Amazon Prime customers:

    http://www.amazon.com/Listen-Up-Philip-Jason-Schwartzman/dp/B00OMDQLAY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1432755984&sr=8-1&keywords=listen+up+philip

  2. Andrew said,

    May 28, 2015 at 12:37 pm

    There is great wisdom here – wisdom spurned by our Godless culture.
    You hit all the bases: sexual, matrimonial, theological, poetic.

    (Please don’t tell me you were being ironic and subtly satirical –
    I want to take this poem at face value.)

    Regarding the lines:

    [Who makes the sunny, simple afternoons,

    Who makes the darkness (good on God for that!)]

    I think of that great poet, the prophet Isaiah who spoke for God when he said
    ” I form the light, and create darkness:
    I make peace, and create evil:
    I the Lord do all these things.”

    Your poem speaks of the way God planned things, and it inspired me to find this Billy Preston song. I hope you like it [the live version !] as much as I liked your poem:

    • thomasbrady said,

      May 28, 2015 at 7:20 pm

      Thanks, Andrew.

      I do like how this came out.

      It can be taken at face value.

      Maybe some readers can read it as ironic if they want.

      I wrote it, but I don’t even know.

      But I think I did hit all the bases, you’re right.

  3. Robert Defeminist said,

    June 1, 2015 at 9:07 pm

    Still trying to get this interview to you…

  4. thomasbrady said,

    June 1, 2015 at 10:35 pm

    Robert,

    Thanks, but I’m not interested in these highly charged political debates on race, rape etc. They belong to news, not poetry. I would rather find resolution in aesthetics and ideality and transcendent insight. Obviously it is important and has its place. But it doesn’t belong here.

  5. Robert Defeminist said,

    June 2, 2015 at 1:32 pm

    OK – sorry … I thought it was a tech glitch. My bad.
    I will try to refrain from posting such things. Now I know.

    • thomasbrady said,

      June 2, 2015 at 4:20 pm

      Thanks, Robert. Some of these issues are so fraught with bad feelings, that any ‘discussion’ tends to quickly get out of hand. All these things are significant, important, interesting, germane, but our aim is to elevate the way they are expressed. We fail our own test, sometimes, in our essays and poems here, as we occasionally touch on hot button issues. The waves are rough these days, but we try our best to ride them.


Leave a Reply

