I WANNA TELL TINA, TOO

Christine walked by with a pear and apple,
Saying, “I need one more, so I can juggle.”

“You can juggle two,” I told her, “with one hand.”
And I thought of fruit falling, and then a name for a band,
In my game of ‘randomly name a band:’ Bruised Fruit.

With the name, Bruised Fruit, I go to Annemarie:
“Hey, Annemarie, I have a great name for a band.”
And I notice Tina missing. “I wanna tell Tina, too.”

Hey, even better: I Wanna Tell Tina, Too.
Is this crazy?  Is this what poets do?
And what would you think of this by the time it gets to you?

2 Comments

  1. noochinator said,

    June 17, 2015 at 3:44 pm

    Every young generation has its soul-killing and time-wasting distractions — this post makes me feel good about being old!

    • thomasbrady said,

      June 17, 2015 at 7:20 pm

      I like the four different expressions in the picture:

      Far right: enjoying ice cream, not really reading the poem.

      Middle right: “Bruised Fruit,” that’s a pretty cool name for a band.

      Middle left: Not sure why “I Wanna Tell Tina, Too” is better.

      Far left: “game of randomly name a band?” That’s freekin’ weird!


Leave a Reply

