HOW DO YOU KNOW IT ISNT THE POETRY I LOVE?

Language is unreal. What’s in the letter

That I carefully seal?

What is it I’m giving to you?

Poetry is something you know that I do.

Love is a pleasure that can always get better

But there must be sentiments that are willing, and true.

How do you know it isn’t the poetry I love?

 

Your face is yours, the one that does the talking all day,

And what will you say to me as you open the letter

And read the inside of what I say?

Nothing belongs to us. Your face is the pretty kind.

I practice to make my poetry better

By sending, each day, a word of myself, which I do,

Like your face that does the talking for you.

How do you know it isn’t the poetry I love?

 

The more I love, the more unreal

You seem; your body hasn’t a thing to say

To what I say; it isn’t the poetry kissing you;

What is opening your letter is strange,

And doesn’t feel like me.

We can hold in our hands the scientist’s chalk.

We want to blast off, yet we are merely gravity.

Our bodies sitting around. The small talk.

How do you know it isn’t the poetry I love?

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. maryangeladouglas said,

    July 8, 2015 at 2:11 pm

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. I love this poem and many others you have written especially lately though I rarely comment because I would be redundant in my always commenting “beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.” And I just quietly rejoice that you are still writing poetry Thomas Graves.

    • thomasbrady said,

      July 8, 2015 at 7:51 pm

      Thank you, Mary! If there is glory on this earth I hope to reflect a little of it.


Leave a Reply

