HUMBLE SITA SPEAKS

image

“The Ramayana…is a divine romance…of undying love between Sita and Rama, two aspects of one divinity whose separation from each other…is illusion…acted out for the benefit of their devotees.”  —Self help psychology book

Why should I care about what you made up in your mind?

I’m not your epic poem. Fuck off. I’m not your Sita

And you’re certainly not Rama, you pathetic oaf.

You think if you steep your shit in ancient religion

It will impress me? Words, words, words. Psychology

And poetry and desire and big fat fucking deal. Listen:

Dinner and movie and you pay. Then we’ll see.

You must be confident. And funny.

Hey, put your poetry aside and look at me.

Sita gives all the guys hard-ons so don’t fucking think I’m going to be

Impressed by yours. You don’t know anything. I’ll show you femininity.

I’m better than you. I use you. Finding me might not be a good find.

Poet-Asshole! Why should I care what you make up in your mind?

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. noochinator said,

    July 17, 2015 at 7:28 pm

    Reminds me of Dotty Parker’s poem “From a letter from Lesbia,” memorably set to music by composer Lars Johan Werle:

    Text of “From a letter from Lesbia”:

    So, praise the gods, at last he’s away!
    And let me tend you this advice, my dear:
    Take any lover that you will, or may,
    Except a poet. All of them are queer.
    It’s just the same — a quarrel or a kiss
    Is but a tune to play upon his pipe.
    He’s always hymning that or wailing this;
    Myself, I much prefer the business type.
    That thing he wrote, the time the sparrow died.
    (Oh, most unpleasant, gloomy, tedious words!)
    I called it sweet, and made believe I cried;
    The stupid fool!
    I’ve always hated birds …

  2. July 18, 2015 at 11:27 am

    “From a letter from Lesbia” sounds good.


Leave a Reply

