WHAT SHOULD BE PRAISED?

image

We don’t love what flatters us.

I could not lie to either,

Though I tried, telling her,

Who was not smart,

“I love your mind!”

And telling her, ugly as a fart,

“I love your body! Can I kiss your behind?”

So none love me now.

Lying is best. But I don’t know how.

So, what can I do now

But take revenge in poems

Which say, fuck it, here’s the truth?

I can tell it because I am its truth.

Only we are the truth, and the lies

Everything not us; even our eyes

Show copies, so nothing original

Exists; only we, ephemerally beautiful,

Coy and partial, stuck in time and place

Are real. Nothing else. Not a trace.

So this is the truth, because it’s me;

The sole attraction of my poetry.

I can only love the physical;

The physical moves me to love, not you;

And that’s why I’m helpless talking to these two:

She, who is smart, I do not love,

Though our talk is delightfully witty,

But then I am stupid with this one,

For I am smitten by the pretty.

And never have the two lived in one.

I’m blinded by the physical.

So who the hell am I, to praise the sun?

I fail to love all things. Even my poetry

Fails. It divides me.

2 Comments

  1. Andrew said,

    August 30, 2015 at 12:13 pm

    The touch of carnal vulgarity combined with self-doubt makes this one interesting. I like it –
    it reminds me of Gustavo Becquer’s similar dilemma::

    Rhyme XI: I am ardent, I am dark…

    “I am ardent, I am dark,
    I am the essence of passion;
    with yearning for pleasure, my soul is full;
    is it me you’re seeking?”
    “No, it isn’t you.”

    “My bent head is pale, my plaits golden,
    I can rain on you sweet thoughts without end;
    of tenderness, I have a treasury;
    is it me you’re seeking?”
    “No, it isn’t you.”

    “I am a delusion, an impossibility,
    a vain phantom of mist and light;
    I am unbodied, I am impalpable;
    I cannot love you.”
    “Oh come, come you…!”

    Original Spanish version: https://connecthook.wordpress.com/espanol/rima-xi-yo-soy-ardiente-yo-soy-morena/

    • thomasbrady said,

      August 30, 2015 at 12:26 pm

      Thank you, Andrew! I had a Spanish speaking poet
      girlfriend once who used to mention Becquer quite a bit…


Leave a Reply

