CHEATING

image

I have never—nor would I ever—cheat on you.

You let a small suspicion take root in your mind, where it grew and grew and grew.

Christ said we cheat, if we cheat in our mind.

Outwardly pure, we can still be unkind.

There is no escape. If we were deaf, dumb, and blind,

Jealousy would still haunt our souls; and jealousy is so unkind.

I told you I would never sleep with her because she had fat arms.

And that was the end: I was unkind—in your mind, you had fat arms.

Since we broke up, a year has gone by

And I only now realized why.

How does love between the sensitive work at all?

Give me blue skies over an island. A parking lot. A wall.

 

7 Comments

  1. maryangeladouglas said,

    November 23, 2015 at 11:43 pm

    Fidelity is everything. Even if it is not believed.

  2. maryangeladouglas said,

    November 24, 2015 at 12:39 am

    Tom, I just had a really weird (yet positive) experience. First let me say by way of preface (and at the risk of seeming crazy) I sometimes see faces in things: mirrors, rippling patterns of shadows on the wall, in screens, in contrasts of light. Altogether in my life I’ve probably seen these about 11 times. Oliver Sacks has written about this illusion somewhat but I don’t know if I fit into the categories he mentions. Anyway. I was looking just now at your beautiful photo on facebook of the two moons and looking at the large cloud or the large upper part of the cloud between the two moons I began immediately to see also in black and white, the very clear images of several poets. Usually I see these things as a succession of images with the various images striving to be dominant against whatever background I see them. I promise you I am not making this up. It is not happening by my will because I don’t really like this to happen. It is disconcerting. It happens spontaneously. Anyway, here is what I saw. First, the image of Edgar Allen Poe, then Edgar Allen Poe next to John Keats, and then that image swiveled a bit but mostly it was still them. Then I saw an elderly lady that looked like a Quakeress, I don’t know who she was but she had a kind smile, as did Poe. Keats looked tired. Then I saw Emily Dickinson at the back of the images but more strongly etched than Keats. Then I saw Charles Lam and Poe and finally the whole image resolved into Charles Lamb as an elderly man with white hair very forthrightly and kindly looking out of the cloud and the kindly elderly lady just behind him. It was not Mary Lamb because the face was more peaceful. Then the cloud was steadily the image of Charles Lamb. I guess it means you have the poets working with you. I could feel there were other poets trying to crowd into the cloud. I know this sounds lunatic but I am reporting what I saw. There was a kindly, benign, benevolent feeling in all of it. The images were just black and white old fashioned portraits from the shoulders up. Only Charles Lamb was old. Poe had a completely peaceful and uncharacteristically calm and bright expression on his face. That is what I noticed the most. Well it’s not Halloween and I really hope you don’t think I’m crazy. Have a good evening. Mary D.

    • maryangeladouglas said,

      November 24, 2015 at 12:47 am

      I forgot the weirdest part. After this happened I thought I want to see a picture of Charles Lamb as an older person. So I typed charles lamb photo into google. The first thing that came up after a bunch of charles lamb images was a business called: CHARLES LAMB/MOONLIGHT PHOTOGRAPHY.

  3. thomasbrady said,

    November 24, 2015 at 1:47 am

    Mary I love that story. I see faces in patterns on blankets and such. I believe you. Maybe I’ll see something similar. Dreams are remarkable. It’s a wonder there is not more wakeful dreaming and visions. All those poets! Moonlight photography! I’ve met a lot of poets on-line since I created “Poets” and put up that photo which I had just recently taken.

  4. maryangeladouglas said,

    November 24, 2015 at 1:51 am

    I don’t base anything I do in life on what I see in dreams or illusions like that but if I see it related to another person as I did in this case I will say something on the chance that the event might mean something to them. You have to use your mind and your deepest, considered intuition in your life and not depend on dreams I am very firm on that but I do think sometimes messages come to us in unusual way and sometimes those “messages” don’t mean a thing they are just distractions from focusing on what you need to do now. In my faith though I do believe we are constantly surrounded by those who have gone before us in our chosen field and truly, truly I don’t want to see all of them (at least not until Heaven). I can’t deal with plain everyday vanilla crowds on earth as it is!

  5. thomasbrady said,

    November 24, 2015 at 1:12 pm

    Maybe the dead poets are watching my progress, and yours, Mary. But they are so quiet and respectful. I barely hear them in the wind.

    • maryangeladouglas said,

      November 24, 2015 at 2:11 pm

      It is a happy thought to think they are watching over us that quietly.


Leave a Reply

