MORE ADDICTIVE

image

Is there a bass line more addictive than heroin?

Or a melody that beats all intoxication?

Is there a set of eyes

So lovely, they are food to the wise?

And I, in love, could look at them forever,

And float in ecstasy

Upon their dark and rain pelted river?

There is a melody just like your eyes

Which I heard once under the starry river

Superseding our less distinguished skies.

I heard it once, and it ended my thirst

For melody, which was not the first

Thing I loved, nor the worst.

It was only after you came by

That I knew how beautifully harmony could die,

And dying with it, objects, lights, and hope—

All that once made me stop—

And now breathes quietly in deep depths of the skies that have no sky.

10 Comments

  1. Andrew said,

    November 28, 2015 at 3:03 pm

    Paul McCartney’s basslines: “Fixing a Hole” & “With a Little Help…” among others.

    • thomasbrady said,

      November 28, 2015 at 4:18 pm

      Yup. A Day In the Life, too…

  2. Andrew said,

    November 28, 2015 at 6:02 pm

    Paul is such an amazing musician, lyricist and Anglo-Irish wit.
    He is a true poet of our age. I miss the Beatles.

  3. maryangeladouglas said,

    November 28, 2015 at 7:26 pm

    This is a beautiful poem though of course heroin per se is not beautiful at all. The melodic element in this poem is sheer perfection and complex. The last four lines are especially exquisite. The skies that have no sky, the highest thing – this is so subtly beautiful. And I guess I overused the word ‘beautiful’ but I couldn’t avoid it.

    • thomasbrady said,

      November 28, 2015 at 9:05 pm

      Mary, I appoint you my literary executor. Seriously.

  4. thomasbrady said,

    November 28, 2015 at 9:06 pm

    I’m sorry, was somebody talking about the Beatles?

    🙂

    • Andrew said,

      November 29, 2015 at 4:31 am

      Sorry Tom – I was so enthused by your first two lines I went off on a tangent. I was a bit off-bass I guess…

      I like your poem for its juxtaposition of narcotics, music, and romantic love.

  5. maryangeladouglas said,

    November 28, 2015 at 9:09 pm

    Thank you Thomas. That would be quite an honor.

  6. maryangeladouglas said,

    November 29, 2015 at 7:47 pm

    Andrew thanks to your mention of the Beatles I looked up Paul McCarney’s current website and heard a song I never heard before which starts to play as you are into several minutes of looking at the site. The song is called Tug of War (1982). And having just read Thomas Graves essay on it still being 1970 or thereabouts or simply from the POV of time standing still Paul McCarney’s website became quite unsettling. It is a beautiful song nonetheless but to me it was even weirder in the fact that some of the melodic line and orchestration is extremely similar to John Denver. And now I am going to have to look at the calendar.

    Is Paul McCartney writing anymore? And how strange if he is not. So you see you didn’t at all bring up something out of kilter with the subject at hand. On Scarriet I think it must be impossible to be off the subject as long as you have good will (which you have an abundance of). I very much appreciate as well finding out about the great Irish poet Mangan whom I never heard of before through one of your postings at one of your websites the other week. Everything on McCartney’s website is nostalgic.

  7. Chumki Sharma said,

    December 1, 2015 at 4:37 pm

    ‘Depths of the skies that have no sky’..how does one write a line like that..? It’s a beautiful poem..a stunning poem..


Leave a Reply

