THERE IS ONE LOVE LOVELIER THAN YOU

There is one love lovelier than you.

She kisses me with a face

So beautiful, all ugliness is gone without a trace.

She is beautiful and because she is beautiful, true.

Beauty is good—not for what it is, but for what it can erase.

She kisses me with a beautiful face

Born in darkness, from shadows born,

From atmospheres, from no ordinary mother torn,

Born from mist, by the ether kissed,

Mist drifting from the misty river this morning, early,

A morning that is still night, and still forlorn,

Especially sad, but sadness without worry,

Hanging by the river bank, never in a hurry,

From untroubled shadows lingering, she was born,

And she kisses me, who am forlorn, with kisses true.

There is one love lovelier than you.

6 Comments

  1. maryangeladouglas said,

    January 1, 2016 at 9:18 pm

    [said with a smile though not a smiley face] I guess John Keats did not leave the room, or maybe, only for a little while.

  2. maryangeladouglas said,

    January 1, 2016 at 9:31 pm

    I mean to say this is a very Keatsian poem; even without reading it aloud I could recognize it as very like the musicality of Keats though more modern in the opening which seems to be your way of tempering your poems generally so that they will sound like yours in the present age as well as being imprinted with the Romantic spirit.

    Concerning music I wanted to say something about your music videos, melodies that while I find it very intriguing to listen to them as kind of a raw material of music, elements of music under construction and then left on the bench somehow, for later and still no matter how many I listen to envision them each and everyone as little songs that might be sung by Samuel Beckett characters – I also feel with some that if you would sit with them a little longer a more intricate melody would emerge. Whether or not that is something you would want to do of course depends on your own feeling about it but I could kind of hear the rest of the melody kind of crying out from the ore in quite a few of them: let me out let me out and if that isn’t a spooky story, I don’t know what is.

  3. thomasbrady said,

    January 2, 2016 at 1:50 pm

    Thanks for the feedback on my music, Mary. I am simultaneously pleased with my songs but also troubled by the imperfect presentations. Guitar, voice not quite in tune sometimes, poor recording quality, songs a bit unrealized, or too complex, mistakes made. Yea, it’s the sort of hybrid to make any would-be admirer mad. Beautiful torture. I hear slick productions of pop music on the radio and I think, ‘my music is just as good. Just give me some professional musicians in a professional studio…’ But maybe it wasn’t meant to be. My fate lies elsewhere. The quietly moody hiding under a stone.

  4. maryangeladouglas said,

    January 2, 2016 at 5:04 pm

    We are taught in poetry and music to (well I never took composing so i’m not exactly sure of it) to tie up the loose ends. What I got from your songs, what I get from your songs though some melodies are more developed than others, they all have an unfinished quality which also has merit. I think the thing I dislike about a lot of poems even when I like them especially those in traditional forms, is that they have a quality of being all sewed up in a way, all the loose ends snipped off, no possibility of raveling. There is something to be said for leaving the raveling in.

    • thomasbrady said,

      January 2, 2016 at 6:14 pm

      Yes, like a person slightly unruly in hair and habits and dress who is a thousand times more interesting to talk to…

  5. maryangeladouglas said,

    January 2, 2016 at 7:14 pm

    I think a lot of people have lost the ability to talk at all or never even found it. There is a surfeit of talking points but no talking. What I like so much about Scarriet is it feels to me like (at least the way I think of it) real talking with silences in between. People imagine they are speaking to each other. I remember the feeling at home of talking. It has been hard to find it in the world outside of that home. Maybe a lot of people feel that way. Maybe behind even their talking points there is a wish to say something if only they knew how. It is ironic and sad to me that there is so much communication and so little communicated. Art when it is real can heal that lost feeling in the world. And nature. and being by yourself a lot can often help, but many people are by themselves and it doesn’t help. I listen to radio call in shows at night and you can hear it in people’s voices their unique imprint, the emotion carried over the waves no matter what they are talking about and I wonder are they calling into the radio show because they have no one else to talk to and I think many people are. I find what is in their voices, each one so interesting, the expression in their voices no matter what they are saying. And then I hear what is in the radio host voice wanting to get as many calls in as possible in each segment and it is heartbreaking to me. I guess I am just sappy. Some announcers though really do listen to the person and seem to hear them.


Leave a Reply

