DON’T RUIN IT

When hair hides a beautiful woman’s face

I curse hair and desire and the human race.

I curse beauty and desire and my disgrace

When hair hides a woman’s face.

Don’t ruin it, I said to myself, which you always do.

Oh God look at her. She’s loving you.

Don’t give me Rumi or politics or science.

Give me a beautiful woman’s face.

Don’t give me biblical injunctions and wisdom and advice.

Really. You are thoughtful and nice.

But I will love her at my own pace.

When a song comes into your head,

Record the melody softly. Don’t add a drum.

Beauty must be gently fed.

Time is the same for everyone.

She’s yours. Don’t throw a fit.

Don’t ruin it.

 

3 Comments

  1. Andrew said,

    February 6, 2016 at 9:38 pm

    [Don’t give me Rumi or politics or science.]

    I LOVE this line.

    I’m so sick of Rumi… and those who mention him/it.
    Sufi poetry is the last refuge of the terminally vapid.
    Motivational corporate staff-meeting poetry.
    Hopey-changey wishful thinking uniting fallen manunkind…
    New-agey comfortably spiritual One-World dullsville.

    Give me Joan B’s face any day.

    Just ruin it, OK?
    Time will ruin it anyway…

  2. thomasbrady said,

    February 7, 2016 at 12:14 pm

    Good one, Andrew. I think Lao Tzu is even worse. I tore that “wisdom” apart on Scarriet in October 2014. A woman I loved sent me “wise” Lao Tzu sayings. Later, I thought, wait, this isn’t “wise” at all. It’s psycho-crazy!

  3. Andrew said,

    February 7, 2016 at 8:07 pm

    The Tao (Sun Tzu too) is corporate boardroom-friendly.

    The Art of War as professional-development PowerPoint slideshow…

    Rock on, Scarriet.


Leave a Reply

