SEA OF LOVE

I didn’t know what music was, not yet,

Not until I heard how the two of them met

In a large lagoon under the moon

And the poems in their books got wet.

There’s been many sleepless nights because of things I didn’t get,

Sleepless nights, because of things I didn’t understand, or couldn’t understand yet.

But I remember when highbrow made lowbrow her pet.

It was the strings in You Don’t Own Me which drowned her voice

And then I no longer knew. I no longer had a choice.

It might have been one chord

When I found the Lord.

 

 

 

 

7 Comments

  1. noochinator said,

    July 15, 2016 at 11:12 am

    Who was singing “You Don’t Own Me” when you found the Lord? Dusty Springfield maybe? She was an amazing singer:

  2. powersjq said,

    July 19, 2016 at 2:53 pm

    More touching and vulnerable than your capital-R Romantic efforts. I have an artist friend who, when she injured her right hand–her drawing hand–started drawing with her left. The left-handed drawings (as I think of them) are more open, dreamy, and daring. This poem feels like that to me–like you’re writing with your non-dominant hand. I like this a lot.

  3. Desdi said,

    July 19, 2016 at 4:32 pm

    Did you really find the Lord –
    or did He find you ?

    (or was it just poetic shtick…)

    • thomasbrady said,

      July 19, 2016 at 7:09 pm

      poetic shtick of an elevated kind…

      • Desdi said,

        July 19, 2016 at 7:28 pm

        OK – guess I need to keep praying for you then !


Leave a Reply

