DO YOU KNOW WHY

Image result for poe morella

Do you know why I love poetry?

It is not the sound of it, nor the fame.

Let me tell you what happened to me:

I fell in love with a name.

 

All the work that goes into a nation!

I love mine as a candle loves its flame.

I love the syllabification

My citizens speak, and kiss with, and we burn, and die, the same.

 

But look how my eye adores

This eye, who escaped to these colder shores

Barely intact, but with a strange name

I speak and love, as a candle feels its flame,

 

A quiet name of many syllables,

Now quietly spoken

Into my ear of a valley between its hills.

I saw. But when I heard, I was broken.

 

I intoned this liquid name for a day.

A name is how my voice adores

A  voice—eternal and known—and it promises to stay.

The name my poetry loves is yours.

 

5 Comments

  1. Desdi said,

    September 3, 2016 at 2:23 pm

    I really like the way this poem reads. Structure, rhyme and flow are in harmony.
    It goes well with the graphic. Is the ink picture by Beardsley or is it some other artist murmuring suavely in a lady’s ear to come upstairs and see the etchings?

    • thomasbrady said,

      September 4, 2016 at 1:49 pm

      Desdi,

      Thank you.

      That’s the Irish illustrator Harry Clarke. He did a lot of Poe illustrations in the early 20th century; he died at 42 of TB.

      Tom

      • Desdi said,

        September 4, 2016 at 4:28 pm

        Those Art Nouveau illustrators were a decadent lot. Beardsley also died of TB very young. I really like W. Heath Robinson – the Poe engraver. He seems to have been a part of the same ink-etching cohort:

  2. noochinator said,

    September 3, 2016 at 5:22 pm

    Hey Desdi, I was just thinking about you when I was listening to these songs:

    • Desdi said,

      September 4, 2016 at 4:39 pm

      Freakin’ Joe Perry RAWKS ‘bro !
      New England all the WAY !
      Rawk & ROLL bro’.

      ( I’m thinking of you as I get noochinated to Arnold Schönberg with 3 quarts of uiskebaugh…)


Leave a Reply

