IF I COULD TELL YOU SECRETLY I LOVE YOU MADLY

Image result for secret lovers underneath the moon in renaissance painting

If I could tell you, secretly, I love you madly,

Would you accept me gladly?

Because there is no other way but secretly

I can hold you close to me

And tell you what I want to tell:

The secret, heaven; the reason for the secrecy, hell,

The heaven, a love that’s happy, for no one’s ears but ours;

A whispered love that’s whispered, beneath the lovely stars,

A love with no announcement, a love without a view;

A love with me secretly slipping, like poetry, into you.

A love behind a railing, and the moonlight sliding

Along the railing, sliding and sailing and gliding

On the lake, the moonlight’s silver poison coloring a brook,

And everything falling, a secret, leafy, candlelight of a nook

Catching us, who never a love like this forsook.

Look for my sign; I will make it only for you.

The sign: T Expect it in the plainest of places.

Keep your beautiful eyes out for my clue,

You, my moon, fairest of all the faces.

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Desdi said,

    October 30, 2016 at 5:23 pm

    Reminds me of making out with that hot HS girl in 1986…

    • noochinator said,

      October 30, 2016 at 8:35 pm

      • thomasbrady said,

        October 31, 2016 at 11:51 am

        That’s a great song.


Leave a Reply

