I CALL UPON MY CHRISTIAN GOD

Image result for hindu art

I call upon my Christian God to protect me from this
Hindu lady. Her delicious kiss
Will make me forget
My God, and yet,
I see my God in her eyes,
And will martyr myself for her paradise.
The passion I will go through
For the God of gods I will willingly do,
As long as I am strong
And can worship long
The virtues and beauties of you.
What do I remember if your hand
Is my hand holding her hand?
And memory, in the eternal now,
Leads me on the path that is hers, anyhow?

30 Comments

  1. November 20, 2016 at 3:20 pm

    Once you felt love, it crosses all barriers of religion, region, language, color etc., Thank god, you were enticed to enjoy, as you have got love!

  2. noochinator said,

    November 20, 2016 at 5:27 pm

    Here’s a Hindu lady I’m a big fan of:

  3. maryangeladouglas said,

    November 21, 2016 at 7:22 pm

    A poem to “the God of all gods”…

    I HAD A FEELING ABOUT THE STARS

    I had a feeling about the stars
    that maybe they could be
    the outward shell of God

    and he was speaking that way
    in silver to us all and from distances
    no longer calculated by the radio astronomers.

    and this is why we misunderstood
    and he was weeping in pearl aureoles
    above the quiet snows inconsolably,

    beyond His incontrovertible Will
    because we did not know Him, still.

    mary angela douglas 20 november 2016

  4. November 22, 2016 at 4:19 am

    God who?

    • noochinator said,

      November 22, 2016 at 4:21 pm

      The Father, Son and Regina Holy Ghost, silly!

  5. November 23, 2016 at 1:31 am

    Here’s a poem I wrote entitled ‘What God Recently Said’:

    What God Recently Said

    .

    • noochinator said,

      November 23, 2016 at 10:40 am

      Here’s one I recently wrote:

      “The Regina Holy Ghost Wears a Strap-On Cock”

      Dedicated to Leslie Scalapino (1944-2010; http://lesliescalapino.com), whom I learned of at Scarriet

      The Regina Holy Ghost Wears a strap-on cock.

      The Regina Holy Ghost wears a strap-on cock as a fashion accessory.

      The Regina Holy Ghost wears a strap-on cock because She honors male procreative power.

      The Regina Holy Ghost wears a strap-on cock because it feels good to do so.

      The Regina Holy Ghost wears a strap-on cock because it makes Her adherents swoon (and She likes to see Her adherents swoon, because it’s good for them to do so).

      The Regina Holy Ghost wears a strap-on cock whenever She pleases.

      The Regina Holy Ghost wears a strap-on cock because She loves you.

      • Desdi said,

        November 24, 2016 at 2:44 pm

        I don’t get the “Regina” part of your cockery/mockery here…

        is it some Catholic reference?
        The HG is not some queen in any sense of that word.

        • noochinator said,

          November 24, 2016 at 3:25 pm

          I used to have Domina instead of Regina, I changed it for monomaniacal acronym purposes (too abstruse to go into here).

          Conceiving of the H.G. as a kind of watchful dominatrix spirit works well for me — maybe I’ll go to hell for it — hope not!

          • Desdi said,

            November 24, 2016 at 3:40 pm

            Well, be careful…
            certainly there is much to mock in Christianity so-called; however Christ said this:
            Therefore I say to you, any sin and blasphemy shall be forgiven men, but blasphemy against the Spirit shall not be forgiven” (Matt. 12:31)

            http://www.desiringgod.org/messages/beyond-forgiveness-blasphemy-against-the-spirit

            • noochinator said,

              November 24, 2016 at 4:21 pm

              Thanks — maybe I better not post that poem anywhere else! I don’t mean it as blasphemous, I mean it as a reconception. Thinking of the H.G. in those terms has helped me live a more Christian life, although I admit I’m not an objective judge of that!

              • Desdi said,

                November 25, 2016 at 9:59 pm

                I get scared myself whenever I read those words of Christ…
                but then the fear of the Lord is a GOOD thing for people like me.

        • noochinator said,

          November 24, 2016 at 3:26 pm

          No, not Catholic, I’m not a Mariologist, despite being in their clutches as a young boy. I picture the H.G. as the female being in this painting:

          • noochinator said,

            November 24, 2016 at 3:27 pm

            (Painting is by Leonor Fini)

          • Desdi said,

            November 24, 2016 at 3:41 pm

            Mariolatry is a serious flaw in Romanist doctrine IMO. That is one reason I am Protestant.

            • noochinator said,

              November 24, 2016 at 4:15 pm

              But isn’t Mariology, however ham-handed a concept, responding to a real human need? Shouldn’t the female have a place in the Godhead?

              • Desdi said,

                November 25, 2016 at 12:39 am

                Yes – and…she does.
                Not in the Godhead- but in the cosmic scheme of things. God is not a misogynist so don’t believe the hype.

  6. noochinator said,

    November 25, 2016 at 3:02 am

    G.M. Hopkins was of the “Ghost Look Like a Lady” persuasion:

    The world is charged with the grandeur of God.
    It will flame out, like shining from shook foil;
    It gathers to a greatness, like the ooze of oil
    Crushed. Why do men then now not reck his rod?
    Generations have trod, have trod, have trod;
    And all is seared with trade; bleared, smeared with toil;
    And wears man’s smudge and shares man’s smell: the soil
    Is bare now, nor can foot feel, being shod.

    And for all this, nature is never spent;
    There lives the dearest freshness deep down things;
    And though the last lights off the black West went
    Oh, morning, at the brown brink eastward, springs —
    Because the Holy Ghost over the bent
    World broods with warm breast and with ah! bright wings.

    https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/44395

    • Desdi said,

      November 27, 2016 at 7:55 pm

      If you really want to get into it, check out the King James Version (as opposed to other translations) of the Book of Proverbs. Wisdom is sometimes seen as feminine but at other times as neutral depending on the translation.

      Wisdom is not necessarily, however, the same as the Holy Spirit.

      Christ Himself stated: “Wisdom is justified by all her children”.

      Read Proverbs from 1:20 onward and note where the gender changes and becomes neutral:

      https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Proverbs+1&version=KJV

  7. November 28, 2016 at 2:06 am

    Do you know what you get when you cross a Jehovah’s Witness with an Atheist?

    Someone who knocks on your door for no reason at all.

  8. noochinator said,

    November 28, 2016 at 3:56 pm

    Here’s another Leonor Fini painting of the female comforter:

    • Desdi said,

      November 28, 2016 at 9:22 pm

      They don’t appear to be wearing much more than a comforter…

  9. thomasbrady said,

    November 29, 2016 at 1:04 pm

    Androgyny is a comfort? To some. Perhaps.

    • November 29, 2016 at 11:41 pm

      Androgeny…eh. It’s neither here nor there.

    • noochinator said,

      November 30, 2016 at 8:59 am

      Don’t see the androgyny: the lady has breasts—
      The man looks feminine as he rests?
      The woman has a garland in her hair—
      Her sheets are colored; the man’s are bare.
      I’m not trying to turn to you any cold shoulder,
      But p’rhaps androgyny’s in the eye of the beholder.


Leave a Reply

