AT LEAST I AM ONLY ONE

Image result for a lover standing alone in painting

At least I am only one, and feel only an individual’s pain.

Once I was God, and felt everyone’s loneliness and sorrow.

Please don’t do that to me again.

My pain’s enough, and my pain might even make me happy tomorrow.

What I suffer now may fall somewhat away,

And by that lessening of sorrow,

Make me glad now, next to yesterday.

She broke my heart, but that was years ago,

And yes, I still love her, and dwell on the past.

But the past swims away and takes with it that pain

When I was a god of sorrow,

Because I loved her again and again,

And she took my whole tomorrow.

Now, if I happen to see her in pain,

I, in what might be called revenge, count that as my gain.

I’m happier than God—whose sorrow is everyone’s sorrow.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

