THE MORE IN LOVE

Image result for landscape with river in painting

Love! The more in love,

The easier jealousy can kill

The love. One whispered word

Thwarts a happy lover’s will.

Sad, in the garden, sad, in the street.

No where and no one, jealousy

Said, other loves, might possibly meet.

Other loves? What is wrong with others?

The more madly in love, the more we sweep aside

Everything. In the walls of love things hide.

Friends, whispers, rumors, a meaningless joke about mothers.

The more in love, the more a whisper manages to make its way in

To conquer sighs the lovers used to conquer sin.

My love! I found out too late!

A word was dropped in the river—

Your river, our river, which flowed with love—to water a river of hate.

 

 

 

 

13 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    January 24, 2017 at 5:16 am

    Advice from a fellow poet, a friend and a fan. Your poetry has evolved and become more (dare I say it) modern. We have all moved past iambic pentameter and A/A, B/B. But, old friend, it’s time to do away with the line capitals. They are anachronistic and interfere with the flow of the stanza and the thought.

    • Mr. Woo said,

      January 24, 2017 at 1:56 pm

      “…interfere with the flow of the stanza and the thought”.

      Utter nonsense. You’re point really seems to be…I don’t like line capitals.

    • Desdi said,

      January 24, 2017 at 3:29 pm

      Scarriet beware!
      A crypto-modernist has infiltrated our forces.
      (More ABBA please)

      • thomasbrady said,

        January 24, 2017 at 4:56 pm

        Desdi,

        Yea, isn’t ABBA wonderful?

      • noochinator said,

        January 24, 2017 at 6:43 pm

        Sir yes sir! This was chosen by my wife:

      • thomasbrady said,

        January 24, 2017 at 10:13 pm

        Also wonderful:

        ABABB (To A Skylark, Shelley)

    • thomasbrady said,

      January 24, 2017 at 4:54 pm

      Anonymous, I appreciate the advice, but I honestly, I don’t think it matters. If lines have rhythmic integrity as units, I find it more pleasing to present lines “as lines”—not parts of prose sentences, and so capitalizing lines is simply a matter of enjoining this spirit. I understand your feelings about its artificiality, and you may be right. I’ll think about it, but I’m leaning in my heart towards the way I do it know. Occasionally I try pure prose poetry, and then I will not capitalize.

      • Anonymous said,

        January 25, 2017 at 3:05 am

        Well, you can lead a horse to water. . .

        Prose poetry. Is that like “alternative facts”?

  2. Anonymous said,

    January 24, 2017 at 5:18 am

    Just saying.

  3. Anonymous said,

    January 24, 2017 at 5:59 am

    I mention this because I just read a beautiful poem by Robert Bly posted on another blog and was distracted by his line caps.
    Out with the old, in with the new. 😁

  4. Anonymous said,

    January 24, 2017 at 6:12 am

    And, why do my posts say 5 am when I know for a fact it’s only 1 am in Boston . Did you move to England recently?

  5. Anonymous said,

    January 24, 2017 at 7:01 am

    You know who I am and, like I told my old friend Franz, if you don’t listen to me, I will fly up to Bean Town and slap you silly!


Leave a Reply

