GOD

Image result for diana the huntress

God, you must be hiding a lover somewhere.

God, tell me the truth, I’m in despair,

Tell me, tell me, what did you create?

The human? I am one. But look at this template.

I thought the human was the creation, but no;

People? Am I a person? With eyes and words? I don’t know.

You are hiding a lover. Can I say this? I think I can.

The template isn’t human. It’s woman and man.

People don’t exist. We are one of two.

And I want the other one. Tell me what to do.

They are all the same: they surrender with a sigh.

And before that and after that they coldly go by.

5 Comments

  1. May 19, 2017 at 9:37 pm

    “God is a concept by which we measure our pain.”

    John Lennon

  2. thomasbrady said,

    May 19, 2017 at 9:53 pm

    Gary,

    The poem is really an attempt to define love, not God.

    Strangely enough, within a couple of hours of publishing this poem, it came true—by pure accident. That tells me it’s a good poem. The gods like it.

    I think that Lennon quote is one of the least clever things he’s said. I get it. We invent a God to “save” us, based on how much pain we are in. But we also glory in the idea of God and invent God when we are really happy, too. And God as a concept is itself a concept, and so this assertion doesn’t finally mean anything.

    Tom

  3. thomasbrady said,

    May 19, 2017 at 9:57 pm

    God is a person, by which we measure our joy.

  4. maryangeladouglas said,

    May 20, 2017 at 7:48 pm

    I also dwell in God in connection with joy. And beyond the realm of ideas, concepts, Real.

    GOD IS NOT AN IDEA

    God is not an idea,
    a thesis
    a theorem

    needing to be proven.
    having been already demonstrated:
    QED and etc.

    by whom?
    for what purpose?

    can you prove air.
    water
    light

    and by proving cause?

    God is not a blackboard equation
    a summation of human thought
    on the subject thus far

    subject to a vote.
    beyond the realm of
    all that it is possible to consider

    in this world
    He lives
    life itself.

    and measureless.

    mary angela douglas 18 april 2017

  5. May 23, 2017 at 3:26 am

    “I think God, in creating man, somewhat overestimated his ability.”

    Oscar Wilde


Leave a Reply

