DO YOU REMEMBER

Death of Edgar Allan Poe still debated

Do you remember when you read the Black Cat

by Edgar Allan Poe?

The whole cycle of love was explained:

something I would rather not know.

You were disgusted when I came too close,

yet longed for me when I was far away.

This explains the craziness of love.

It is why that mix of cynicism and sadness

describes everyone we know.

It is why life is a gruff joke.

I no longer read quickly.

Do you remember when you read the Black Cat

by Edgar Allan Poe?

2 Comments

  1. garybfitzgerald said,

    September 17, 2021 at 11:36 pm

    If reincarnation is true
    then that would explain
    why half the people in this world
    are completely insane,
    because if you’ve been here before
    and have seen what I’ve seen
    you’d have to be crazy
    to come back here again.

  2. thomasbrady said,

    September 20, 2021 at 11:52 am

    The spirit learns from being in the world, Gary, but the world harms it not.


Leave a comment